top of page
  • Writer's pictureNina Salinas

Peace. Love. COVA.

Updated: Aug 29, 2021

Imagine an environment where you can have Choice, Ownership, Voice, and Authentic Learning experiences. That sounds like the dream for every learner, am I wrong? That’s everything I ever hoped for as a learner, and everything I strive to provide my students. With the COVA (Choice, Ownership, Voice, and Authentic Learning) learning approach, all of this is made possible (Harapnuik, (n.d.)!


Harapnuik (2017, October).


What Does This Mean to Me?


This means that as I progress through the Masters of Education in Digital Learning and Leading program at Lamar University (DLL), I will have the opportunity to have choice and ownership in my own learning as I incorporate my studies in learning experiences that are authentic to me. I have the ability to personalize my education in order for it to work best for me and my future goals as an educator. This will allow me the opportunity to learn how to shift the focus from the teacher to the student in order to give my students the learning experience that they deserve. In time I will also be able to teach other teachers how to provide this type of learning approach for their own students. With the COVA learning approach implemented in the DLL program, II will be successful in and beyond the DLL program.


Okay…, but how?!


That is a question that requires some explaining, so here goes. In order to take the learning experiences that the DLL program has provided me and put them to use, I will have to somewhat go against the grain of what current education is requiring educators to do (within means, of course). No, that does not mean to outright dismiss all the standardized testing and strict curriculum timelines. I mean that when educators can, they need to provide their students with opportunities for choice, ownership, voice, and authentic learning experiences. This is the only way students are truly going to be successful beyond the classroom walls. It sounds easier said than done for-sure, but like with everything else- Educators Always Make Things Happen!


 


 

References


Harapnuik, D. (2017, October). CSLE+COVA Explained. Retrieved August 24, 2020, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lby4-CQhIvI&feature=emb_logo

Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). CSLE+COVA. Retrieved August 25, 2020, from http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=6988

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page