top of page
  • Writer's pictureNina Salinas

"So you show me yours, hon, and I'll show you mine." #WordToWillieNelson

 

In my current course in the DLL Program, I was given the opportunity to look at many different ePortfolio examples and share what I have learned from them. This was an amazing chance to learn from people who have already been through the same graduate program I am currently going through, get ideas from others, and take notes of things I would like to implement within my own ePortfolio! I have collected some of my thoughts and written them down below!



Primary & Secondary Student ePortfolios:

Caleb Harapnuik- NS AutoStyling

According to Harapnuik (2019), Caleb Harapnuik had and maintained an ePortfolio throughout his years in primary and secondary education. His experience and knowledge from his original ePortfolio have carried over to his new business website, NS AutoStyling.

When looking at the NS AutoStyling website, I am instantly drawn in by the dark theme and vibrant photos. His business website is easy to navigate, and it includes everything a paying customer would want to see in order to trust someone working on their vehicle. I also love how he includes his other social media platforms where his customers can continue to look at his recent (and previous) projects. Over all, this was a great website, and I appreciate that it specifically targets his audience!

Lamar University DLL Graduate Student ePortfolios:

Brooke Joseph, DLL Graduate Student, 2019- Teaching in Color

Although Brooke’s ePortfolio is VERY colorful and can be a distraction, she does a great job at including and linking presentations, videos, resources, and references within her site! Brooke made her blog posts intriguing with GIFs, Bitmojis, and relatable content, but kept her DLL Course Work and Reflections professional with images and videos that were relevant to the content of the post. I can say that I have personally spent much time on Brooke’s website when I am looking for examples of course work that I am currently working on. This is because again, on every reflection and blog post, she goes above and beyond including additional presentations, videos, and/or resources that are beneficial to her readers. This is something specific that I have taken away from using Brooke’s ePortfolio as a guide, and I have tried my best to include some of those types of “extra” beneficial aspects on my own ePortfolio.


Nancy Watson, DLL Graduate Student, 2017- Develop a #DigCit State of Mind

I really liked scrolling through Nancy’s website. Her setup was very clean, organized, and had a good navigation system that suits her needs now. Although it was hard to find her DLL coursework, I am sure that is for a reason. I can see that Nancy has made significant accomplishments throughout her time as a Digital Leader in Education. I enjoyed reading about all the great things she is now doing! I also enjoyed the different Piktocharts she had throughout her website. It was awesome to see that this tool could be used in many ways from a resume, presentation, or just simply to give a flyer with information. Nancy’s website is another great example to prove that the ePortfolios we are making now, truly will (or have the potential) to stay with us even after completion of the DLL Program.

Principal ePortfolio:

After reading George Couros’ post, “3 Reminders for the Beginning of the 2020 School Year,” I was intrigued to stay and browse his website. As I write this, I am at the beginning of my second year teaching (during a pandemic), so I was instantly drawn in by his post to see what he had to suggest. After going through George’s website, it is clear that he has spent much time on the creation of it. He has places for readers to comment (and I think it’s super cool that he actually responds back!) I enjoy how George incorporates quotes, resources, and posts from other social media (like Twitter) within his blog posts. This makes them informative and relatable. This is something that I hope to do on my blog posts. I was also very impressed with all of his accomplishments and books he has written. If you would like to read one, I would suggest The Innovator's Mindset: Empower Learning, Unleash Talent, and Lead a Culture of Creativity”.


After viewing these ePortfolios/websites, I have learned that ePortfolios are truly customizable for everyone- no one’s website looks the same. Each ePortfolio and website is targeted to a

specific audience, and it is true that it will change over time! I think this is something that has helped me see beyond wanting “to just be done,” and fully appreciate the fact that it may always be in “progress.” This is a place where students and educators can share their beliefs, accomplishments, and ideas- and I am here to show you mine!



 

(S/O to Willie Nelson for the awesome song- and inspo for my title.)



References

Harapnuik, D. (2019, August). Examples of ePortfolios. Retrieved September 13, 2020, from http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=5979

Nelson, W. (2015, February 13). You Show Me Yours (And I'll Show You Mine). Retrieved September 13, 2020, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQIOWRU8Olg

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page